Book Report: Scrapbook

I have taught English for a few years , and do projects quite frequently; however, this is the first year I have done the read it at home book report.

My first advice is to pre-approve a genre or book. Our school has great resources, but sometimes not a huge variety due to a large student population. I did not want my students to not read because the book they wanted was checked out or there wasn’t a large enough variety of genre, so my criteria was for students to read a “chapter book.” I went further to add that Junie B Jones, while a great series for 4th graders, was not age appropriate for 7th graders and suggested the Lone Star List as a guideline.

I started off with a scrapbook book report, an idea from another teacher I Googled. I took her printable and basic instructions (I made it class specific and took out biography info). This project, at the time, was a completion grade. When I tried to find the source, I found a ton of rubrics that I could have adjusted.

I suggested Glogster, as providing scrapbook paper and time in class was expensive and time-consuming. Glogster is an online multimedia poster/collage maker. When I was searching again for my source, I found this template that I wish I had. The site and our web filter at school did not agree with each other, so students ended up printing them and everything else. I now know there is a Glogster EDU and will check it out for future projects.

Some were great especially the Glogster ones. Many were a book report instead of a character sketch. I have done more book reports and I will say, as many of us know, it’s all about examples and specificity.

Scapbookoutsidersglog

About schmeggo

Hi there and welcome to my little piece of web. I am a wife, a step mom,mom, and a teacher among other things. I am addicted to school supplies and getting things for as little as possible. During July and August I spend Sundays coming the papers and stalking my local Staples trying to find items at prices that I can get over 120 of them. During the school year, this is a personal blog of educational interest. I am by no means an expert on education and child rearing, but through trial and error, I hope we can help each other out. Whether you are buying for one or one-hundred, kindergarten to college, I hope that my little web space can help you find something trendy or cheap to make back to school on any day easier.
This entry was posted in lesson, my classroom, resources, school and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

