Matt Damon on Education

Matt Damon has a special place in my heart. After all, he started by winning an Oscar for being an actor in the movie he wrote (I am not counting School Ties where he starred at a young age). I was shocked to hear on the radio on Wednesday,  he was speaking eloquently about education and the “problems” in this country.

Apparently Matt’s mom is a teacher. After making a speech at Save Our Schools, a rally to promote funding for education, in Washington DC, Damon was approached by a reporter for a Libertarian News Channel, Reason TV. She told him that he is motivated because as an actor he did not have job security. He then turned to her and (while exercising his vocabulary) informed her that the system itself is broken and that a teacher “wants to teach”. He asked, “Why else would they make **** wages?”

Now I couldn’t follow the L.A. Times opinion as they quoted teaching being an easy career and an easy A, then adding a link to an inspiring teacher story. No matter what you believe, for me it’s comforting to know that people are publicly stating that the test based incentive programs are not working.

Now if he had married a teacher instead of a model….

The comment chronicled by TMZ is here.

The rally video with speech is here.

Great article from USC here

The speech is transcribed here

What do you think?

 

 

 

 

 

About schmeggo

Hi there and welcome to my little piece of web. I am a wife, a step mom,mom, and a teacher among other things. I am addicted to school supplies and getting things for as little as possible. During July and August I spend Sundays coming the papers and stalking my local Staples trying to find items at prices that I can get over 120 of them. During the school year, this is a personal blog of educational interest. I am by no means an expert on education and child rearing, but through trial and error, I hope we can help each other out. Whether you are buying for one or one-hundred, kindergarten to college, I hope that my little web space can help you find something trendy or cheap to make back to school on any day easier.
This entry was posted in current events, links, school, teaching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

