Spring Break Challenge Summary

I failed my own challenge.

I am going to try this when Oliver is eating more solids. At this point, it was hard justifying. It would also be nice to be able to do activities that we were all interested. Having the age difference between a sixteen and six month-old, it was hard to find activities we would all enjoy. I also should plan on taking our own snacks, and making foods at home.

To recap:

Sunday: Water Gardens (free) Sonic @ happy hour (about $9)

Monday: Scouting Museum (free) Which Witch (about $17)

Tuesday: The idea was to go to the Fort Worth Botanical Gardens or Amon Carter Museun (would have been $5 to park). Instead we sat around, played, and went to Chuy’s Happy Hour (total was about $12).This was with two drinks and free nacho bar.

Wednesday: The plan was to go to the Museum of Science and History (half price for press pass holders). We went to a photo shoot with my step daughter. We ate at Wendy’s for about $10. We were really tired and took naps at home. Wednesday night I took a bunch of stuff to the Just Between Friends consignment sale.

Thursday: I started the day with the dentist. I am not including that in my total as it was a bill that will be paid. I went to Target. I spent $40. This included $12 for batteries for a toy that I swear cost $10.

By Thursday I had no plan. At this point I had spent 50 dollars. I got gas for $50 taking me to $100. Then I went to the consignment sale. I bought a car seat, toys, books, and shoes. I spent $70. This put me over the $150. Being that it was St. Patrick’s Day, I went to Sonic ( I get deal text messages). I spent 15, and we had 50 cent ice cream cones. We could have done it if I had budgeted better.

Friday- I was defeated. My shopping habits had gotten the best of me. We went to the Fort Worth Zoo. Breakfast was at Chick-Fil-A. I get text messages for free food on Fridays. I spent $8 for three people. I got lucky and a stranger offered me their coupon for $3 off at the zoo. We paid $27 for three people to get into the zoo (Oliver was free). I should have packed food, but I ended up spending $8 to ride the carousel and train, and $14 on two corny dogs and two drinks. Then on to souvenirs. I spent 8.65 on a monkey for Oliver. ..He Loved it !

Total for the week: Around 280. I could have gotten away with 200 without the consignment sale, but I am weak. I did make $80 at Just Between Friends, so I may just be $50 over.

How did you do?

 

About schmeggo

Hi there and welcome to my little piece of web. I am a wife, a step mom,mom, and a teacher among other things. I am addicted to school supplies and getting things for as little as possible. During July and August I spend Sundays coming the papers and stalking my local Staples trying to find items at prices that I can get over 120 of them. During the school year, this is a personal blog of educational interest. I am by no means an expert on education and child rearing, but through trial and error, I hope we can help each other out. Whether you are buying for one or one-hundred, kindergarten to college, I hope that my little web space can help you find something trendy or cheap to make back to school on any day easier.
This entry was posted in current events, discounts, family, food, freebies, Holidays, life, links, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Break Challenge Summary

  1. Brad Eggert says:

    Hi,
    I came across your blog tonight, because I was searching for school supply price trends. I am starting up a prepackaged school supply company right now.

    Here’s the weird part…I setup my wordpress site last night, and THEN found your site, which is on the same theme (Twenty Ten) and the same header concept (Crayons). Also, I live in North TX!
    I swear I didn’t mean to copy your site, but I just wanted to comment and let you know about it.

    Thanks,
    Brad

    • schmeggo says:

      Flattering …really!
      I hope it works well for you. Let me know what you decide to do and I’ll link to you. If you’re better than EPI, who knows?

Leave a Reply

