Just when I thought “Hey this isn’t so bad!”

At 7:30 this morning, my power went out. Now if you are not familiar with my house and the history of power outages, we have lost power for several days at a time, several times in the 7 years we have lived here.

Last year during the NBA All Star game we lost power for 3 days. By the second day, we ran out of firewood and checked into a hotel. We were about to check in for a second night when our power came back on at about 7 pm. In 2004 during a string of tornadoes, we lost power for 4 days. Thank God it was June and it was just the two of us. It happened the week before our wedding.

This weekend is the Super Bowl. People are renting their houses for the thousands, so I know we probably won’t be able to get a hotel room (or afford the one we get).  I even said on Monday, when all this was just a prediction, that I prayed we would not lose power. And of course we did, but just for about 15 minutes.

Calling Oncor, I got the message that they will be rolling outages for 15 minute increments. I was so happy to hear Channel 8 call Oncor out after the power came back, and I did my, “Oh my God I don’t think I can do this today!” sigh of relief. I wish they would have told us this was PLANNED, as this was much unneeded stress.

Just in case you don’t know. In Texas (all over the state I guess), we are experiencing rolling blackouts as a result of a decrease in temperature, and several power plants going down. You can call Oncor 1.888.313.4747 , but you will get a message with a confirmation number (not encouraging).

We have wood this time, and since this morning, I have boiled water and getting things ready just in case we are out again.

Stay Warm Y’all

About schmeggo

Hi there and welcome to my little piece of web. I am a wife, a step mom,mom, and a teacher among other things. I am addicted to school supplies and getting things for as little as possible. During July and August I spend Sundays coming the papers and stalking my local Staples trying to find items at prices that I can get over 120 of them. During the school year, this is a personal blog of educational interest. I am by no means an expert on education and child rearing, but through trial and error, I hope we can help each other out. Whether you are buying for one or one-hundred, kindergarten to college, I hope that my little web space can help you find something trendy or cheap to make back to school on any day easier.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just when I thought “Hey this isn’t so bad!”

  1. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

