Volunteer Spot: Streamline the Process of Parents signing Up for Activities

Having only a child through middle school, I have never really been a volunteer at school. My mother did the room mom, Girl Scout Leader, cheer booster, band booster, soccer mom, t-ball mom and cub scout mom, but until my little bundle of joy is there I have not really been on that side of the experience. I know the process is hard. Between text messages, emails, and telephone , it is hard to know who signed up when. I went on a couple of school field trips, and go to all the football games where the band plays, but I am by no means a volunteer mom at this point. As a teacher, even in junior high, I see the value and appreciate the involved parents.

Mabel’s Labels are all over the net as an awesome product. I cannot count how many back to school sites have included them in their “best products” offerings. Mabel’s has a blog where they talk about parenting issues including school-age issues. Today they had a great article (and slideshare document) about volunteering at your child’s school. In junior high, we LOVE parents who want to come make copies (it almost never happens), or when the PTA comes and serves us food (always a great thing).

A place they send you to is Volunteer Spot. This site is designed for those PTA presidents, school sponsors, booster club presidents, and anyone who needs to coordinate people in all one place.  This site could be a thing of greatness. I was able to do a demo where you can sign up. You just point, click and it puts your name on the activity.  They also give you volunteer ideas and fundraising opportunities that don’t need cookie dough or magazines. I am wondering now how I can use it for a couple of things I am working on.

About schmeggo

Hi there and welcome to my little piece of web. I am a wife, a step mom,mom, and a teacher among other things. I am addicted to school supplies and getting things for as little as possible. During July and August I spend Sundays coming the papers and stalking my local Staples trying to find items at prices that I can get over 120 of them. During the school year, this is a personal blog of educational interest. I am by no means an expert on education and child rearing, but through trial and error, I hope we can help each other out. Whether you are buying for one or one-hundred, kindergarten to college, I hope that my little web space can help you find something trendy or cheap to make back to school on any day easier.
This entry was posted in current events, life, money, Parenting, school, school fundraising, teaching, trends, Volunteering and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

