Lunch Again

Yesterday I woke up early (as I have every Sunday blaming the baby). My main interest was watching a very anticipated This Week on ABC. All week, ABC advertised a talk about school reform. Much to my dismay they spoke mostly about teacher incentives for test scores, and really gave me nothing new. One thing they brought back up was Jamie Oliver and the “Food Revolution“.

That being said I will say, I have a pretty poor diet. I am lazy, and that hits most of the reasons why it is poor. I have been interested lately on quick and easy school lunch recipes that are healthy too. Until Jamie Oliver, I probably never though much about how bad a Lunchable was for me.

I present to you some links I have found for you and your children. Tomorrow I hope to offer some Opensky products that will help you pack these lunches.

The one great thing about “kid” lunch ideas is that they are great for those that don’t have access to a fridge. You don’t have to be a child to enjoy an organic peanut butter and jelly bunny. You just may not cut it into the shape of a bunny.

40 Healthy School Lunches : includes vegan deserts, soups, and alternatives to hot pockets (a little more cooking than I would like)

Woman’s Day 10 Healthy School Lunches : includes salmon, meatballs, and quesadillas

Eat This Not That Lunch Replacements: items you can buy (No cooking yea!)

Woman’s Day Healthy Lunch Swaps: common sense swaps like reusable containers

Green Lunch Boxes

Parenting’s Easy Healthy Bento Lunch Boxes: very cute ideas with bunnies and caterpillars. This link gives even adult ideas about ways to pack things that do not require mercury tainted fish

Parenting Bento Ideas

About schmeggo

Hi there and welcome to my little piece of web. I am a wife, a step mom,mom, and a teacher among other things. I am addicted to school supplies and getting things for as little as possible. During July and August I spend Sundays coming the papers and stalking my local Staples trying to find items at prices that I can get over 120 of them. During the school year, this is a personal blog of educational interest. I am by no means an expert on education and child rearing, but through trial and error, I hope we can help each other out. Whether you are buying for one or one-hundred, kindergarten to college, I hope that my little web space can help you find something trendy or cheap to make back to school on any day easier.
This entry was posted in current events, Food Revolution, life, teaching, trends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

