Back to School Deals, colleges, and DFWMommy

College Rankings:

Yesterday (really Tuesday), Us News and World Reports released their infamous college rankings. While Havard, Princeton, and Yale got their coveted top three status I found a few things interesting. One thing is the price of state schools. It was kind of interesting how you could tell the economy of a state based on their cost in some cases. Texas ranked high at 45  (for a public school) and still remains quite inexpensive for in-state tuition approximately $10K (UT Arlington is only $1000 less, tier 2 and unranked).

I did get quite upset that Tennessee has dropped so low in the rankings at 104 and Clemson is 64. I knew so many people who came to Tennessee because they thought poorly of Clemson (but that WAS 10 years ago). You can check the rankings of your favorite school here and feel free to tell me about it in the comments.

Us News and World Reports also has a great article about creating a back to school budget. This once again is one of those common sense articles, but a few things you may not have considered. One thing that I found is my students loved decorating their binders with colored duct tape, and this was really useful when those less expensive supplies broke down. At about $3.33 at Wal-Mart, you can’t beat not having to buy new folders and binders. This article suggests using magazines and creating your own “fashion folders”. Please also remember, if the student has to turn it in to the teacher, there is no need for it to be cute.

My Dallas Mommy

If you read this you know how I like the mydallasmommy.com website. Yesterday she did a bunch of back to school deals that I think you will enjoy.

Here are the BTS deals she spoke about on WFAA.

She also posted a link for FREE file folder tabs (sign up here). Looks like you have to hit it early.

Tax Free Weekend deals.

Great Lunchbox Deals

and BTS shopping tips

About schmeggo

Hi there and welcome to my little piece of web. I am a wife, a step mom,mom, and a teacher among other things. I am addicted to school supplies and getting things for as little as possible. During July and August I spend Sundays coming the papers and stalking my local Staples trying to find items at prices that I can get over 120 of them. During the school year, this is a personal blog of educational interest. I am by no means an expert on education and child rearing, but through trial and error, I hope we can help each other out. Whether you are buying for one or one-hundred, kindergarten to college, I hope that my little web space can help you find something trendy or cheap to make back to school on any day easier.
This entry was posted in college, DFW watching the ads, life, Parenting, sales, school supplies, School Supply lists, trends and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to School Deals, colleges, and DFWMommy

  1. My College says:

    I could use mydallasmommy, they have some good stuff at great prices. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

